The transformation

 

I am looking forward to renovating our new house. I can imagine the transformation of the house to a home as we move in and the furniture arrives from the USA. I am comforted by the fact that we have decided to bring our furniture from the states. It will be easier for us to adjust to this new land and culture with a little oasis of home to retreat to when the stress of life gets the best of us. I know it will be difficult for us to learn a new language and new costumes, but it will also be rewarding. I remember when I first moved to Milan, Italy; every day was an adventure. Life was not predictable like so many days are in America. Sometimes it is good to get a little uncomfortable in life. Our son is at the age that he is starting to yearn for adventure. He should have a memorable time living in the Czech Republic.  I, on the other hand, am getting to the age that I want to settle down. Hopefully this will be our last move. It will take us about five years before we can blend in to our new community. Five years before people will realize that we are not ignorant. When you first move to a foreign land it is like you are deaf, dumb, and blind. You can not read, write or speak to anyone. Little by little you learn a word here or there, then one day it happens, you are at a restaurant with a group of people, all talking at once and for the first time since you arrived you can understand what they are all saying. Then you know that in another six months or so you can start joining in on the conversation, too.

