Change of Weather

 

Another week has slipped by without me noticing it.  Where does the time go?  We have had an abrupt change in the weather since last week.  It has turned warm.  The snow has melted away revealing little yellow and white flowers in the garden.  Spring is here.  The days are longer now.  We gain nearly five minutes of sunlight a day .  The sun is up by six in the morning now.  The children no longer have to tread to school in the dark.  My friend shared some of her garden seeds with me and I promised her I would share some of my squash seeds with her.  She grew some very nice pumpkins last year which she was also kind enough to share with us this winter.  I have saved the seed and will try to grow my own this year.
 
Gianfranco and I went on a day excursion to Poland with our neighbors on Tuesday.  It is only an hour and a half drive from here.  We ended up at a flea market just across the border where we loaded up on Polish sausages, smoked fish and cheese.  It reminded me of the flea market at Murphy, North Carolina, except there were no used items, just new ones.  We were back from our shopping trip by three in the afternoon.  The neighbors charter a bus for the trip.  It cost all of six dollars for us to go on the bus and we didn’t have to worry about how to get there.  They are planing another trip to the zoo in April for a deviation.  We signed up for that one too. 
