Homemade weed killer

 

Well it has gotten hot.  It is in the 80’s already.  I am trying to get my garden planted and work in my flower beds and I’m sweating.  We haven’t had any rain in weeks.  I am having to water my garden by hand.  We have a well right next to the vegetable patch.  It’s an old fashion type with a rope and a bucket.  I like its simplicity.  GF and I went to a big nursery this weekend and bought two more trees.  We have a plum-tree and an apricot tree now.  We also bought four grape vines and some blueberry bushes.  I found another ever blooming rose for the courtyard.   I have been working the last two days to get everything in the ground.  Our apple tree is blooming.  We cut it back this year.  I am going to try to keep it sprayed for bugs and fungus.  Speaking of spraying, I mixed up some homemade weed killer with 2 cups vinegar, 1/4 cup salt, 1 oz. of alcohol and 2 Tbsp. of dish soap in a quart of water.   It seems to work pretty well.  It will kill grass too so just spay it on the weed you want to kill.  I edged around my fence with it this year.  It is not toxic and it beats hoeing and it is a hell of a lot cheaper than Roundup. 
 
 
I am on my way to town.  I have to get a few things for the garden.  Gardening is an addiction.  Once you get everything in the ground you want to get more.  There was nothing here when we arrived so there is plenty or room to plant. 
