A goose for Christmas

Christmas is sneaking up on me this year.  I was shocked when I looked at the calendar and realised that it was the 20th of December.  I had to get myself in gear this week.  Today I made fruitcake.  I know it would be better to make it early but I really don’t know what happened to the time.  I had trouble this year finding the candied fruit.  The two stores that had it last year didn’t have it this year.  Fortunately a new store opened up in Chridum stocked with candied fruit.  I made a white fruitcake this year.  It is a new recipe.  
 
Yesterday I spent the day shopping.  Mostly for food.  Everything closes for four days at Christmas.  You have to stock up with all your Christmas specialities before Friday.  I’m going to cook a goose for Christmas dinner this year.  My son and Giulio don’t like turkey.  I don’t know if they will eat goose either but it’s worth a try.  Tomorrow I am going with Zdene to buy some rabbits in the morning.  She knows of a farmer who dresses them out per order.  They will be fresh.  I have developed a liking for rabbit baked on a bed of sour kraut with potato dumplings.  In the afternoon I’m going to make pumpkin pies and cookies.  This is certainly a busy time of year.
 
