A Carp for Christmas Dinner

Today I went to a farm with my neighbour Zdene to buy a couple of rabbits for dinner.  The lady farmer was telling us what she was going to have for Christmas dinner.  She said that she had bought Kapre for Christmas. I thought that she said capra (goat) and I was really interested in buying some too.  She told me that there was a farm down the street and she even called and told them I was coming to buy kapre for Christmas.  When I arrived there was a fish waiting for me.  Kapre in Czech is Carp.  It is the traditional Christmas meal.  I couldn’t very well say that I didn’t want the fish so I bought it, live and brought it home.  It is now swimming in our bath tub.  So tomorrow instead of young goat we are going to eat carp for Christmas Eve dinner. I’m going to have to dress it out in the morning.  Actually it is kind of neat to have a traditional Czech Christmas feast, but I was really looking  forward to roast goat.

 

 Fried Christmas Carp with Green Olives

 1 carp

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup flour

salt and pepper to taste

5 tablespoons sunflower oil

1 onion chopped

2 garlic cloves

onion, lovage, olives1/2 cup green olives

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon lovage or parsley

1/4 cup white wine

 Cut the carp into pieces. Dredge in flour, then dip in egg and dredge in flour again. Heat oil in large frying pan. Add fish to hot oil and cook on medium heat until done. Put fish on a paper towel to drain. Pour sunflower oil from pan and add olive oil, onion, and garlic. Saute until tender. Add olives and lovage to pan. Add wine, reduce wine and emulsify with olive oil. Place fish on serving plate and top with olive sauce.

Fried Carp

