Tomato and Apple Chutney

It is bitterly cold outside.  Snow has covered the ground as a blanket covers a bed.  We are all tucked in for winter.  It’s time to enjoy some of the provisions we put away in our cellar.  When winter arrives I get hungry for hearty meals of meat.  I crave pork, lamb, beef and liver with onions.  It doesn’t matter as long as it is meat.  One of my favorite condiments for meat is chutney.  Over the years I have experimented with several recipes and perfected one of my own.  In the summer when the garden is at its peak I make several batches of chutney to store in the cellar for winter.  I make enough for Christmas presents and for my family.  All my friends and family loves it.
 
Tomato and Apple Chutney:
 
2 1/2 pounds of green tomatoes or firm red tomatoes chopped
1/12 tsp. of salt
2 1/2 pounds of apples chopped
2 cups of chopped onions
3/4 cup of golden raisins
2 red sweet peppers seeded and chopped
1 1/2 cups of apple vinegar
2 1/2 to 3 cups sugar
1/2 tsp clove
1 tsp ground ginger
4 whole hot peppers chopped or 1/2 tsp crushed dried hot pepper
2 tsp curry powder.
 
Combine all the ingredients except the sugar in a 6-quart pot.  Bring to a simmer over medium heat and simmer, uncovered for 15 minutes or until vegetables are tender.  Add the sugar and continue to cook for 15 to 20 minutes longer, until thick, stirring  occasionally so the apples don’t scorch on the bottom of the pan. Makes about 4 or 5 pint jars.
 
