On the way to Milan

 

Saturday, November 4, 2006

It has been snowing off and on for two days now.  The snow is early this year.  The ground is not really cold yet so the snow isn’t piling up.  We only have a 1/2 of an inch on the ground.  We have had a warm Autumn until now, temps in the 60’s.  Then the other day the wind began blowing from the north and everything changed overnight. We have stopped work on the Elf House for the winter.  Gregory is going home to Moldavia for a couple of months and I will be in Milan so there isn’t a lot that can be done till we get back.  The roofer finished the roof just in time for the weather to change.  It has rained or snowed everyday since he put the last tile on the roof.  It looks great!  We are really happy with it. 

Elf House before reconstruction

Elf House after reconstruction

 I’m getting ready to go to Milan to visit my son.  I will be leaving on the 9th of November.  I have made  reservations for my son and I to come back to the Czech Republic for Christmas.  We will arrive on the 22nd of December. My son will stay with us till the 8th of January. 

 I’ve been getting everything together to take to Milan.  I am making beef jerky for my son today.  He really likes it and the extra protein is good for him.  Tomorrow I am going to make a fruit cake.  Mom has to show up with a few goodies for her boy.

 

I learned to make beef jerky from http://www.microwebtech.com/ for recipes and detail instruction czech out his web page.

My White Fruitcake Recipe

½ cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 cups sifted all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ milk

3 eggs

1 cup golden raisins

¼ cup chopped citron

1 cup candied cherries

2 cups chopped candied pineapple

1 cup pecans or walnuts

 Cream butter and sugar and eggs until light and fluffy. Sift dry ingredients, and add alternately with milk to creamed mixture. Add fruit and nuts; mix well. Pour into greased and waxed-papered-lined 9x5x3 inch loaf pan. Bake in preheated slow oven at 275F ( 135C) for 21/2 hours, or until done. Cool slightly, remove from pan.

