Going back to work

 

I have taken up painting again.  I have decided to paint some portraits of my family and friends.  I haven’t picked up a brush in three years and it shows.  I have lost my touch.  I am working it out though. My mother always told me that practice makes perfect.  I have some more practicing to do but things are getting better.  Tomorrow is Friday, I have to go to Prague to pick up my son from boarding school and bring him home for the week-end.  I am going early and visit the National Gallery of Art.  I will study the old masters and see how they did it.  I am fortunate now to be able to go to the art galleries in Prague. 

 

My son is back at school after the Christmas holiday.  He likes the new school although he doesn’t like living away from home. Although, he is becoming independent and responsible, he is still young.  I’m proud of him. I can’t believe how much he has changed in these past three years. Sending my son to boarding school was a very difficult decision for me. I really hated the idea, but living in the Czech Republic one has few alternatives. The language has proven difficult for all of us. A British school in Prague is the best we can do.

 

Making the decision to enroll my son is private school has also forced me to make another decision I am going to have to find work. This week I started teaching again at a language school.  It is only two days a week.  It is not enough to pay for my son’s schooling but it is a start. I will find more work soon.  It is really difficult for me to go back to work.  I like staying home and being a housewife and a mother so much.  I love all my little projects like gardening, wine making, canning, making jelly and jams and painting.  I feel really fortunate to have been able to be a stay-at-home mom. Now that my son is older, I can serve him better by working outside the home. I owe, I owe, so off to work I go!

