My Garden Bench

My garden bench

My Garden Bench

 One of the small pleasures of summer is drinking a cafe latte while sitting on my stone bench in the garden. The stone was lying in the courtyard where it is now when we arrived eight years ago. It was too large for us to move, without hiring special equipment, so we decided to leave it where it lay. I eventually built a terrace around it and raised it enough to put a couple of stone under it by using a lever.

Cafe Latte

Cafe Latte

At that point the stone became my garden bench; where I sip on my cafe latte, where we rest from working in the garden, where we entertain friends, where we sit on a cool autumn evening to feel the last warmth of the sun held in the stone. It’s interesting how an old stone bench in a garden can play such an important role in our lives.

The terrace around the stone bench

