Zucchini and Corn Fritters

Zucchini and Corn Fritters

The summer is winding down and our garden is at its peak.  Everyday my husband brings a basket of fresh vegetables and fruit into the kitchen.  Corn, zucchini and onions are abundant.  I blanch the corn in boiling water for 5 minutes then cut the fresh corn off of the cob with a kitchen knife.  In Tennessee I had a “Lee Wooden Corn Cutter” which made the job a lot easier.  I could kick myself for leaving it behind.  After removing the corn from the cob I put it in freezer bags and store it in my freezer for later.  Most of the zucchini is stored in jars in my cellar as pickles, both sweet and savory, the rest is cut up, blanched and put in the freezer for soup.  Onions are laid out on the floor of the barn until their outer skins are dried then put in the cellar before the first frost.  With so much to do, I look for quick easy meals to sustain us.  These fritters are light, tasty and so easy to make. If you mixed up a batch and took them to your neighbors, they would actually thank you for giving them zucchini.  I just throw the vegetables together in a large mixing bowl, using approximately one cup each of corn, zucchini and onions.  I dump the flour, baking powder, salt, pepper and egg on top of the vegetables and mix it all up with a spoon.  No other liquid is needed because the vegetables have enough moisture to make a nice batter.  I serve the fritters with sliced fresh tomatoes or a jar of pickles and a little tartare sauce.

 Zucchini and Corn Fritters

 1 Medium zucchini, chopped

1 Cup of corn

1 Medium onion, chopped

2 Cups all-purpose flour

2 Teaspoon baking powder

1 Teaspoon salt

½ Teaspoon black pepper

1 Egg

 Put corn in a large mixing bowl. Coarsely chop zucchini and onion in a food processor or by hand and add to bowl. Sift together flour and baking powder. Add to bowl with egg and stir well until smooth. Heat oil in a frying pan. When the oil is hot drop a dollop of batter into the pan. Flatten with a spoon. Cook on medium heat until brown. Turn and brown the other side. Serve with tartare sauce.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

