The Flood …..the descent to the valley below

Sitting on the porch of the cabin I watch the rain beat violently against the water in the pond.  After some time the force of the storm weakened.  The clouds slowly moved on. The sound of thunder distanced itself from me. Finally, I felt it was safe enough to make my way to the car. I walked through the muddy corn field, each step sinking into the mud, then through a small wooded area. It was hard going but the closest way. Once I got to my car I was dripping wet. I pulled my rain coat off and covered the seat with it. Water puddled around my derriere as I drove down the hill. The road was swept with water where streams had burst their banks. I began to worry knowing that the Chrudim river was between me and home. As I came out of the forest and looked down to the valley below I was shocked to see the river was already over its banks and had flooded the plain and villages along its edge. The road through Svidnice was under water. I had to turn back. I drove back up the hill and turned toward Skrovad. As I got to lower ground the streets looked more like rivers than roads. There were actually ducks swimming down the road in front of me. Skrovad was blocked too. Again I turned around toward the highlands trying the last road off the hills I crossed through the forest toward Slatinany. I knew this road was the highest above the river. If the bridge was covered at this point there would be no way for me to get home. As I drove along the high road the rain water was cascading across the road, running toward the river below, but the road was still passible. As I got to the Slatinany castle there was a dip in the road where the water had collected. Several cars had stalled in the water and were blocking the road in both directions. I was trapped again. My mobile phone rang. It was my husband. I told him I was safe and stuck in Slatinany just two kilometers from home. He told me that everything was OK at home. The rain had stopped. As I was talking the doors opened on one of the cars that had stalled in the water. Several young men got out and pushed the car out of the water to dryer ground. This opened up a lane on the road but I was afraid that if I tried passing through the water I would stall out too. I waited on the edge of the road for the water to recede. Then I saw a big dump truck preparing to go through the high water. I thought if I got directly behind it, the truck would push the water out from the road as it passed. I could drive in its wake and perhaps make it through to the other side. I made it! Everything worked exactly as I thought it would the water parted like the Red Sea. I was on my way home. As I approached the bridge over the river cars were passing from the other side. The bridge was still above water. At Slatinany the river was still within its banks. All looked well………

