Florida Cornbread


As I entered the supermarket piles of oranges, grapefruit and lemons caught my eye. The bright orange and yellow spheres from a far away place found their way to our supermarket in this frigid, dark snow-covered country. Somewhere the sun is shining, bathing the earth in warm rays of light. I paused for a moment and took a mind trip back to my youth in Florida. I thought of the times I set under orange trees with my grandfather when I was a small child. He would patiently peel a tree-ripened orange with his pocket knife, slice off a wedge and hand the wedges to me one at a time. The oranges from his garden were the sweetest I have ever eaten. Returning to the present I picked up one of the oranges, held it to my nose and took a deep breath. The scent of sweet sunshine. I gathered up a sack of those beauties to take home. When I got home I sat down at my table, peeled an orange, sliced off a wedge and ate it. I was lucky. The orange was sweet and juicy, almost as sweet as those in my grandfather’s garden.


 

Florida Cornbread


Sometimes on Sunday morning my mother would serve a sweet orange flavored cornbread with orange marmalade for breakfast.


1 ½ (185 g) cups all-purpose flour

1 (125 g) cup cornmeal

¾ cup ( 150 g) sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoon ( 12 g) baking powder

2 eggs

1/3 (75 g) cup vegetable oil

1 (235 ml) milk

¼ (60 g) yogurt

grated zest and juice from one orange


Mix flour, cornmeal, salt, baking powder and sugar together. Add remaining ingredients and stir with a fork until all is incorporated into a smooth batter. Pour in greased 11 x 7 inch pan. Bake at 400 degree for 30 to 40 minutes.

