The Niche

What does a girl do when her computer crashes so she can’t blog?  She works on renovating her old house.  This week a virus took over my computer.  Someone succeeded in interrupting my routine for a while.  My dear husband worked for a week-end to clear up the mess and put me back on-line.  I am a lucky woman to have such a techno man in my life.

I spent my week-end finishing a niche in the side of our barn.  Last week I dropped into a second-hand shop and found this Madonna tucked away in a back corner of the shop.  When I told the shop keeper that I wanted to buy her, he was surprised.  Religious relics are not very popular here.  He asked me if I had had too much to drink.  I didn’t bother to explain that I was restoring an old house and she was the perfect size for the niche in the wall.  Now she is back in a place of honor where she seems quite at home.

The niche

