A Florida Holiday

After spending ten years in the Czech Republic I returned to my home in Florida for a holiday.  Knowing that Florida’s summers are unbearably hot, I choose to return to my roots in April, before the rainy season begins and the sun becomes too intense.   Florida, after such a long absent was remarkably similar to what I had left behind.  I was surprised at how little things had changed.  Yes, in Tampa,there is urban sprawl, larger buildings downtown and many more people who have chosen to enjoy the Florida sun, but somehow the Florida that I remembered from my childhood, the beaches of Anna Maria island, were still there and very much the way they were.

Anna Maria Island, Florida

Anna Maria Island, Florida

 

Boardwalk to the beach

Boardwalk to the beach

 

Bird of Paradice, starfish in the sand, a karma bird

Bird of Paradice, starfish in the sand, a karma bird

 

The path to the beach

The path to the beach

 

Bean Point on Anna Maria

Bean Point on Anna Maria

 

The sand dunes

The sand dunes

Pine Avenue, Anna Maria

Pine Avenue, Anna Maria

Old Florida

Old Florida

