Getting the heat out of the kitchen

When I was a child my father had a contraption for frying fish.  It was a plumbers burner which he put an iron kettle on top.  After a fishing trip he would set up the burner in the garden, fill the kettle with oil and fire it up.  Mom would prepare grits and sliced tomatoes and we girls would set the picnic table for dinner.

A plumber's burner and a electric burner

A plumber’s burner and a electric burner

Yesterday was a day for frying fish.  Our friends returned from a fishing trip to Norway, bringing us some beautiful Norwegian filets.  In our vegetable garden I found some ripe tomatoes and lettuce for a salad.  As well as a zucchini for fritters.  Instead of a plumber burner I have a small two burner electric cooktop which I use for frying fish.  By the time my husband returned from work I had our picnic table set for dinner with the cooker on one end and our plates on the other.

Frying fish and fritters

Frying fish and fritters

While I was frying the fritters and fish my husband entertained himself by zooming up and down the drive on his newly repaired moped.  My husband has been working on our mopeds off and on all summer.  Finally he discovered why this one wouldn’t go so he was quite satisfied to get it running again.

A summer evening in the garden.

A summer evening in the garden.

Our fish dinner was wonderful.  The evening was warm and still.  Our picnic table sits under a pergola covered with grapevines.  We set and talked until it was dark.  We drank some of our wine that we bottled last summer and toasted our good friends who are so kind to share with us their bounty.

ZUCCHINI AND CORN FRITTERS

